The Old Mill

SiSoft is headquartered in Maynard, MA in the Old Mill building that served as the headquarters for Digital Equipment Corporation.  The history of this site stretches back to the mid 1800's, when Amory Maynard set up a partnership with a local carpet manufacturer to produce carpet yarn and carpets. They built a dam on the Assabet River to create a millpond that provided power for the new mill. Although none of the original buildings remain on the site, the mill complex that evolved over the years provides a great example of the industrial mills that once characterized many New England towns.
 
Maynard's Mill became synonymous with technology in 1974, when Digital Equipment Corporation bought the complex and made it their corporate headquarters. The PDP-8, PDP-11 and many other DEC products that defined the age of minicomputers were born here. At its peak in the late 1980's, DEC employed over 100,000 employees all over the globe.
 
DEC began downsizing its operations at the Mill in 1993, and sold the Mill complex in 1995. Initial plans to develop the Mill into an assisted living facility failed and the complex was sold again in 1998, becoming the Clock Tower Place office park it is today. The Old Mill today is a fascinating combination of history and technology - and a place that SiSoft is proud to call home.
 
More Mill info
 
DEC pamphlet on the history of the Mill (1977)
(Copy courtesy of Paul Wade, Mercury Computer Systems)